LPA awards Rajendrakumar Anayath with Print Ratna

The Lucknow Printers’ Association organised its fifth mega event, The Printers’ Conclave, on 18 November 2017 at Chancellor Club in Lucknow. The event was attended by more than 400 delegates from different parts of the country, a majority of which were from Pradesh.

08 Dec 2017 | By Rahul Kumar

The annual event was initiated in 2013 with the goal to bring the printing fraternity together on one common platform.

The chief guest of the event was Rita Bahuguna Joshi, cabinet minister of Uttar Pradesh. Joshi expressed her concern about the slowdown in the printing industry and volunteered to meet the members of LPA to help overcome the challenges and growth pangs faced by the printers in current situation.

The guest of honour was Arvind Mardikar, honourary general secretary, AIFMP. The special invitees were Manvinder Singh, VP-North, AIFMP, Ravi Joshi, VP-West, AIFMP and AK Bajpai, assistant director, MSME.

This year, a new award category, called Print Ratna, was introduced to honour individuals who have been doing exemplary work in the field of printing education. Dr Rajendrakumar Anayath, vice-chancellor of DCR University of Science and Technology, Sonepat, was given the first Print Ratna Award. Accepting the award, Anayath shared his struggle of speaking English in the initial days and how he not only overcame it but went on to master seven other languages. He encouraged the young generation to pursue higher education in printing technology.

The second recipient of the Print Ratna Award was Dr Anjan Kumar Baral, HOD, department of printing, Guru Jambeshwar University, Hissar, Haryana.

The other awards announced at the event were Heroes of the Society Award, Young Achiever Award and Unsung Heroes Awards. The Unsung Heroes Awards had two categories – one for the printers and the other for the heroes of the society. The nominations for the printers category of the Unsung Heroes came from the printing associations of UP.

Mohit Bhargawa (nominated by Allahabad Printers’ Association) of Bhargawa Press; Sunil Tandon (nominated by Kanpur Printers’ Association) of Mayur printers; Arun Kumar Jain of Pratibha Press; Vishal Rastogi of Vishal Papers received the Unsung Heroes Awards in the Printers Category.

Sudha Singh Chauhan of Trade Max Printers received the Special Unsung Heroes Award.

Ashish Bhutani received the Young Achiever Award.

The event also saw the release of Print News, the magazine of the LPA.