Pratham Books bags the Publisher of the Year Award

The fourth edition of the Publishing Next Industry Awards 2017 saw Pratham Books bagging the coveted Publisher of the Year title. Whereas, Niyogi Books was the runner-up in this category.

05 Jan 2018 | By Priya Raju

The event which was held on 29 December 2017 was instituted to recognise innovation and leadership of publishing professionals and others in the book trade.

While Invisible Libraries by Yoda Press was declared winner in the Printed Book of the Year

in the English category, Adhyathma Ramayanam Kilippattu by Palm Leaf Innovations won the Printed Book of the Year in the Indian Language Category.

According to the spokesperson at Publishing Next, this year several new categories were introduced, especially for Indian languages. 

He said, "The Awards also recognises the merit of several professions within the publishing industry, besides publishing companies themselves. The Cover Design of the Year (English) award,

was won by Bena Sareen of Aleph Book Co for the cover she designed for How I Became a Tree, while Harshad Marathi of HarperCollins India was runner-up for his cover of Mohanaswamy.

The winners of the Awards were presented with a trophy while the runners-up will each receive a certificate.