Entries invited for Publishing Next Industry Awards 2020

Entries have been invited for the 2020 edition of the Publishing Next Industry Awards. In its seventh year, the Awards, established under the aegis of the platform of the Publishing Next conference, seek to recognise the innovation and leadership of publishing professionals and others in the book trade.

18 Mar 2020 | By Dibyajyoti Sarma

Mushtaq Hussain’s Darbari won the Book Cover of the Year - English in 2019

The only awards of their kind presented in India, the Awards are given in 12 distinct categories, including the coveted Publisher of the Year (General) and Publisher of the Year (Children’s Literature). Other categories include Book Illustrator of the Year; Editor of the Year and Bookstore of the Year.

Focusing on individual books, the remaining Awards categories include Printed Book of the Year (English); Printed Book of the Year (Indian Languages); Printed Children’s Book of the Year (For ages 0-8 years); Printed Children’s Book of the Year (For ages 8+); Printed Book of the Year (Art, Illustration and Photography); Book Cover of the Year (English); and Book Cover of the Year (Indian Languages).

The Awards were instituted in 2014 to reward the talent, initiative, entrepreneurial zeal and untiring efforts of publishers — big, small, independent — that create books.

A specialist jury, consisting of experienced industry professionals, will select the winner and runner-up in each category. The decision of the jury and Publishing Next Advisory Board as regards winners in each category will be final and binding.

There are no entry fees charged. In the case of the printed books categories, a fee of Rs 300 per title is charged. This amount will be used to cover the costs related to shipping the books to the judges. There are no other charges applicable.

The winner receives the Publishing Next Industry Award trophy and a certificate of merit and the right to use the Publishing Next Industry Award logo. The runner-up is be presented with a certificate of merit.

The entries are open until 31 May 2020. The shortlist will be announced on 15 August 2020.

For details, write to contactus@publishingnext.in or visit http://www.publishingnext.in/awards2020/.