Print Olympiad North Zone inaugurated; top six students qualify

Organised by the OPA, the sixth edition of Print Olympiad 2024 for the North Zone kicked off on 28 January on a virtual platform. The contest transpires to recognise the top print students at the regional plus all-India level.

03 Feb 2024 | By Aditya Ghosalkar

On 28 January, the vice chancellor at DCRUST, Rajendrakumar Anayath inaugurated the North Zone session. He appreciated the efforts of OPA and emphasised the key role of printing technology to the younger generation.

TKS Lakshmi Priya, the chief coordinator of the project, mentioned that the Print Olympiad is the brainchild of Kamal Mohan Chopra, and it provides equal opportunities to students of different regions.

“The idea is to seek the attention of students all over India to enrol themselves to pursue a career in printing courses,” added Lakshmi Priya.

Hosted by KU and CUH, the Print Olympiad North Zone webinar saw six students advance to the next round

The North zone witnessed the participation of twelve students from various printing institutes in Northern India such as Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Delhi and Chandigarh.

At the regional level, the competition is organised under the supervision of regional coordinators. Two coordinators for the North Zone are Sandeep Boora, assistant professor in Printing and Packaging Technology, Central University of Haryana and Kanwardeep, Dept. of Printing Technology, Institute of Mass Communication and Media Technology, Kuk.

Speaking on the occasion, Dharmendra Pandya, president, Federation of Corrugated Box Manufacturers of India, highlighted the importance and scope of sustainable printing and packaging. “These days packaging can indicate if the food inside is edible. Such ideas must be conceptualised and students must learn out of box ideas to benefit the industry.

The North Zone jury comprised Surendra Jain, director, Devashish Food Packaging and Research; Rajat Gulati, director, Packwell Containers, Yamunanagar, KB Nagpal, retired principal and head, Pusa Polytechnic, New Delhi. 

The judges analysed the results and Kamal Chopra declared six students eligible for the next round. The students are Uttkarsh Dubey from Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh; Mayank Gupta and Utshav Roy both from SITM, Rewari; Abhishek Vishwakarma and Annu both from GJUS&T, Hisar and Saurabh Setia from Kurukshetra University.

Anubhava Shiksharthi applauded the efforts of all participants and thanked KU and CUH for their support. He thanked the chief coordinator TKS Lakshmi Priya and regional coordinator North Zone Kamwardeep Sharma and Sandeep Boora for their dedication towards Print Olympiad.